Why Do We Say We Are Fine When We Aren’t?

Love, Just Jass
3 min readDec 4, 2021

Because inquiring minds want to know.

Photo by Jessica Felicio on Unsplash

I mean seriously.

Why do so many people do this.

And its not just saying you’re fine either.

People will often say that they are good or they are ok as well.

If someone says they are doing great or amazing, its probably because they really are doing great or amazing.

There isn’t any room for a “but.”

But if you are saying that you are just ok or you are fine, then there is definitely room for a “but” at the end of that statement.

It is is just whether or not, you want to say what is on the other end of that “but”

Which is often why people will leave it at “I’m fine” or “I’m ok”

I am also someone who does this.

For me, its an answer I say without even realizing that I’m saying it a lot of the time.

When someone asks me “How are you doing?”

I just automatically say I’m fine.

Even during the times when I’m not.

There are so many people who will often answer “I’m fine” to that question.

But why is that?

Maybe, it is because it is just an easy response to say?

I mean if I ask someone how are they doing and they answer that they are fine, I just leave it at that and don’t inquiry anymore.

Because if you say that you are fine, then it must mean that you are fine.

That is what that answer leads many people to believe which is why people will use it.

Even when if they are not fine.

I know I do.

If I don’t feel like telling you how awful everything is going in my life, I will cover it up in one simple statement.

I’m fine.

And I’m not completely lying because I really am fine physically and on the outside.

I’m not sick or hurt, so when you see, I am fine.

But if you could be in my head, then you would know that I’m not fine.

On the inside, I’m struggling mentally with the anxiety and overwhelm of everything on my plate.

But you would never know because like I said, I’m fine.

As I was saying above, I know I’m not the only one who does this and with time, I have gotten better about it.

When you finally get the nerve to tell someone that you are not fine, it will feel like a breath of fresh air.

But you have got to get to that point.

I wrote a blog post on how to stop saying you’re fine when you are not, that you can check out below.

It’s time that we all start being more authentic versions of ourselves and it starts with saying “I’m not fine” when you really are not.

I hope that post will provide you all with a starting point.

I will catch you all next time!

Read More: Stop Saying You’re Fine When You Are Not

Love,

Just Jass

--

--

Love, Just Jass

Here to make you “just” feel good through my experiences with mom-life, positive mental health habits, and self-development tips.