Why Are Moms Experiencing Mom Burnout?

Love, Just Jass
3 min readJan 29, 2022

Because moms do get burnout from being a mom.

Photo by alex starnes on Unsplash

I know that for some people, that can be hard to believe.

But moms do get tired of being moms sometimes.

It’s taboo for the mom community to say that but a lot of us feel that way without saying it.

It’s not to say that moms want to stop being moms all together.

At least, that is my experience because I love my kids and couldn't picture my life without them.

But sometimes, I just may want a break from being a mom sometimes.

Because being a mom is exhausting.

And I’m speaking as a stay at home mom.

Since I’m a stay at home mom, being a mom is essentially what I am the majority of the day.

On top of the other jobs that I have such as being a chef, teacher, and maid.

But no matter the amount of jobs that I’m doing throughout the day, I can’t take off from being a mom.

And being a mom is a lot like having a job that you have to go everyday.

But the only difference between being a mom and having a job is that you get to clock out of your job during the day at some point.

You get to walk away from your job and not worry about it until you go to clock back in.

You can’t just walk away from being a mom.

There is no clocking out of that responsibility.

So when you hear a mom talking about how tired and exhausted she is, it’s probably because she is burnout.

Just like people experience burnout from overworking.

Moms get burnout from being moms 24/7.

Just like people need a break from working, moms need a break from being a mom.

So they can feel like themselves for once.

It is really easy to get caught up in being a mom, that you forget about the person that you were before a mom.

Because we were something else before we were moms.

We were daughters, sisters, wives, and friends.

And when you become a mom, these roles get put at the very back of our priorities.

Society doesn't make it any better because the expectation is that once you become a mom, that is what you are.

And you are supposed to always put your child first.

No wonder moms are getting burnout.

With being a mom, there is no time for you so of course, moms are feeling irritable and exhausted.

They are expected to give their all without refilling their own cup.

Unfortunately I know the feeling of mom burnout too well.

Because I have dealt with this feeling numerous times.

But with time, I have learned to recognize the symptoms and ask for help much sooner before it gets too bad.

I wrote a blog post on the symptoms that I experience when I’m dealing with mom burnout that you can find through the link below.

I go into those symptoms as well as what you can do about it so be sure to check out that post if you are interested.

I will catch you all next time!

Read More: Recover From These 5 Symptoms Of Mom Burnout

Love,

Just Jass

--

--

Love, Just Jass

Here to make you “just” feel good through my experiences with mom-life, positive mental health habits, and self-development tips.