What’s Holding You Back From Confronting Your Fears?

Love, Just Jass
3 min readNov 6, 2021

Because it’s normal to be scared right?

Photo by Leon Ell' on Unsplash

Fear is the root of so many things.

And the reason why some of us are the way that we are today.

If you were stung by a bee when you were a kid, then I say that it is pretty normal to be scared of bees because of the fear of the pain that comes with it.

The same with scary movies.

If you know that scary movies are too much for you and leave you having bad dreams that night, then you might want to steer clear of them.

For some these examples bring up a lot of fear, while for others it does not.

But there are times when we should be afraid.

For instance, the fear of drowning because you cannot swim.

If you never learned to swim and you were thrown in to some deep water that requires you to swim, then you should probably freak out because you can’t swim.

Another example would be a run in with a grizzly bear.

Not many people come out of an encounter with a grizzly bear alive unless they have a weapon.

These things have the potential to take our lives.

So, yea, we should be very afraid and fearful of things that are life-threatening.

But what about the instances where our lives are not at risk.

But failure could be.

This can be going away to college after you finish high school.

Or starting a new job.

Or even making the decision to open a business.

All of these examples I have named, you can either experience success or failure with them.

Many people go to college and get their degrees, while others don’t graduate or even drop out.

Some people move up in their careers while others wind up getting fired or laid off.

And lastly, some people experience success with a new business while others aren’t able to keep it open for longer than a year.

There a risk that you have to take on when you make the decision to take on a new endeavor.

And with risks comes fear.

I know I experienced a lot of fear when I started my blog, Just Jass, a year and a half ago.

I was scared that no one would like it or that people would just think “not another mom blog”

But I eventually figured out that people genuinely enjoyed what I had to say.

And even if it’s another mom blog, it’s my motherhood journey and people may want to hear what my journey has been like as a stay at home mom.

But the first thing I had to do before starting my blogging journey was to get out of my own way and confront those fears that I was having.

And I did just that by pressing the publish button to launch my blog out into the world.

Once I did, there was no turning back.

And I’m so glad that I did.

Confronting your fears is not something easy to do especially if you are more on the introverted side like I am.

Which is why I wrote a post all about how you can do it if you are an introvert.

If you are interested in some ways that you can begin confronting your fears as a introvert, then check out that post down below.

I will catch you all next time!

Read More: Confronting Your Fears As An Introvert

Love,

Just Jass

--

--

Love, Just Jass

Here to make you “just” feel good through my experiences with mom-life, positive mental health habits, and self-development tips.