We Are Family

Love, Just Jass
3 min readJul 31, 2021

Get up everybody and sing!

You like what I did there?

I dare you to not sing that song as you read the title.

I know I did, so I going to assume that you did too.

But on a serious note, family is everything.

Family is something that I cherish whether it be the one that created me or the one that I created.

Growing up in a close knit family did this for me.

Both of parents are still happily married and have shown me what true partnership within a family looks like.

By seeing this, I knew what I wanted in a partner and found that in my husband.

Our relationship is the foundation of our little family so we have to be on the same page.

If we aren’t on the same page, then there will be a breakdown in how we parent our children.

And we both want what is best for our girls.

We both want to see both of them thrive and be the best versions of themselves.

And the way to do that is through how we treat one another.

Starting with us as the parents.

If they see how we treat each other with respect and an openness to hear one another out, then they will likely communicate in the same way.

As someone who has worked in the therapeutic field with at risk youth, the majority of the time, there is usually a breakdown in the parental unit.

Kids should be held accountable for their actions and sometimes, we as the parents, fail at it.

If we aren’t clear on what we say or stand firm in our actions, then our children will also be unclear on what to do.

And if we shut down when our children are talking or make them feel like they can’t come to us, then guess what?

They won’t talk or come to you.

And then you as the parent are wondering why your child won’t talk to you.

Which is ultimately what I think every household wants at the end of the day.

To be able to have open communication with their children.

At least that is what I want.

I want to be able to have an open relationship with my girls in which they feel confident in coming to me and trust what I have to say.

Even if it’s embarrassing or something that I may not agree with.

But I know that this type of relationship takes time to build.

So how do I plan to do it?

By starting early.

I’m going to start cultivating the type of relationship I want with my daughter right now at the age of 2.

And the way that I plan to do it is by strengthening our relationship through some fun family bonding activities.

I’m talking game nights, movie nights, or whatever brings us together that allows us to have fun and just be with one another.

Because we are family.

And this family is sticking together.

If you are looking for fun family bonding activities for parents and children, then be sure to check out this post below.

Read More: Fun Family Bonding Activities For Parents and Children

I will catch you all next time!

Love,

Just Jass

--

--

Love, Just Jass

Here to make you “just” feel good through my experiences with mom-life, positive mental health habits, and self-development tips.