Should I See Therapist?

Love, Just Jass
3 min readJul 2, 2022

Because I don’t think anything is wrong with me.

Photo by Christina @ wocintechchat.com on Unsplash

Isn’t that why most people would even consider seeing a therapist?

Because it has to be something wrong with them?

Therapy has gotten a bad wrap over the years as something that is reserved for those who are mentally ill.

Or for those deemed “crazy.”

Which has always been a term that I don’t care for but people still use it anyway.

But you don’t have to be mentally ill or “crazy”to see a therapist.

I know if we were to break a leg or get really sick, we will not hesitate to see a doctor.

In fact, we don’t even have to be hurt to see a doctor.

Some of us still go see a doctor even when nothing is wrong.

We call it getting a check up so that if something were wrong, we can catch it to fix it.

But we don’t always have that same mindset when it comes to therapy even though it can used in a similar way.

If you are familiar about me from my blog, Just Jass, then you know that I have an educational background in marriage and family therapy.

Before I became a stay at home mom, I was seeing clients and families.

Most of them started seeing me because something was wrong.

Whether they were having trouble communicating with their children.

Or maybe the children were having a hard time expressing themselves in an appropriate way.

I hardly ever saw clients without being there being an initial reason of something being wrong.

Which is to be expected like I was saying above.

Most people will seek out a therapist when they feel like they are losing control of their lives and that their lives are falling apart.

If all is well, then most peope would consider seeing a therapist would seem pointless.

But I want to challenge that way of thinking.

What if more people treated therapy like a “check-up”?

Sure, you should absolutely see a therapist when things aren’t well.

But even once things are going well, there is nothing with continuing to go.

There is actually where many people mess up when they begin therapy.

They assume that since they are feeling good and that everything is going well, that they no longer need therapy.

Which may be the case for some people.

But for others, having those “check-up” sessions are really beneficial.

There are so many benefits of continuing to see a therapist such as having a support system behind you .

And strengthening the coping systems that you already have in place.

Plus you will receive the help that you need much quicker when you are still seeing a therapist.

I wrote a blog post on the 3 different reasons that you should go to therapy.

In that post, I also talk about how find a therapist if you are looking for one as well as provide some therapists that I know of in my local area.

You can check out that post through the link below.

I will catch you all next time!

Read More: Reasons Why Everyone Should Go To Therapy

Love,

Just Jass

--

--

Love, Just Jass

Here to make you “just” feel good through my experiences with mom-life, positive mental health habits, and self-development tips.