It’s Never Too Early To Start Teaching Your Toddler Good Habits

Love, Just Jass
3 min readSep 4, 2021

Because why not.

Photo by Kiana Bosman on Unsplash

If your toddler is anything like mine, they are really eager to learn.

Mine is curious and is always interested in what I’m doing.

I can be doing something really simple liking washing the dishes or folding the laundry and its look like a lot of fun to her.

To me, I’m just doing chores around the house that have to done.

For her, its like I’m playing in water with the dishes or just created a giant fort with the pile of clothes I just dumped on the bed that I need to fold.

It’s amazing when you really think about.

The way our kiddos sees things verses the way that we see things.

We all were just like this as kids before we all grew up and realized that these tasks aren’t really all that fun.

But for my 2 year old, doing these things are fun and she gets to hang with mommy while she is doing them.

It’s a win-win for her, but it can also be a win-win for us as parents as well.

If you have not already noticed, out little ones loves to mimic what we do.

As a stay at home mom, my daughter sees me all day long, cooking, cleaning, and running errands if needed.

And she is absorbing and taking in all of this.

In fact, I’m sure she knows my routine better than I do because she is like my little shadow.

Like I said above, she thinks that everything I’m doing looks fun so what does she do?

She copies what I’m doing.

If I’m washing dishes, she wants to wash dishes.

I’m cleaning up around the house, she wants to help clean up around the house.

I loves that she wants to help even if her “help” isn’t that helpful.

Instead of shooing her out the way like I really to want and just handle it myself, I have embraced her company.

And let her “help” me.

Because when you really think about, how can I get mad at my daughter for wanting to wash dishes or fold laundry?

I should probably take her help now, while she still wants to help.

Even if she is more in the way than anything, my daughter is learning about what chores we have to do around the house.

By us consistently doing these chores regularly, she understand their importance and knows that they have to do done.

And she is learning this at an early age as well.

It’s important that our little ones develop some good habits early on and it’s never too early to start.

With my daughter, I have been showing her the importance of chores by letting her help.

But that is not all I have been showing her.

If you are interested in some other good habits that I have been teaching my toddler you can check out that post below.

Read More: Teaching Your Toddler Good Habits Early On

I will catch you all next time!

Love,

Just Jass

--

--

Love, Just Jass

Here to make you “just” feel good through my experiences with mom-life, positive mental health habits, and self-development tips.