Is There Such A Thing As Packing My Hospital Bag Too Early?

Love, Just Jass
3 min readDec 11, 2021

Because I should be prepared right?

Photo by Erol Ahmed on Unsplash

I mean when I was pregnant with my first daughter, I did not know what to expect so when my doctor told I would need a hospital bag, I was so confused.

It wasn’t until she explained to me that I would be at the hospital for a couple of days and wouldn’t be able to leave.

So I should pack a bag to be prepared to stay there.

Which makes sense because after you have a baby, they don’t just let you go home immediately.

Especially if you had a C-section.

I had a natural birth and still had to stay at the hospital for two days.

So, yea, having a hospital bag packed was definitely necessary.

Once, I knew that I had to have a hospital bag packed, then came when should I pack it?

Obviously, I knew that I should not wait too late long because babies come whenever they are ready.

And most babies are good if you have them anytime after 37 weeks.

But if you pack it too early, then it will just be taking up space and collecting dust in the corner.

There is nothing wrong with packing your hospital bag really early because at least you will be ready.

A lot of people like to wait at least until after the baby shower to pack their bags.

Because you can put some of the items that you are needing on your registry.

And if you are lucky, some of your loved ones will get those items for you.

Most moms usually have their baby showers anywhere between 30 to 36 weeks.

I had my baby shower when I was 34 weeks and I packed my hospital bag shortly after that.

And for the last month of my pregnancy, I had my hospital bag packed in the car ready for whenever my baby decided to come.

Which was a little over 40 weeks.

When I became a mom for the first time, I overpacked because I wanted to be as prepared as possible.

I was packing diapers, wipes, and everything that the hospital pretty much already had.

Even a ton of outfits for the baby and myself.

Only to not even wear them.

But I did not know that as a first time mom.

So I learned my lesson the second time around.

With this being my second child, I had a better handle on what I needed in my hospital bag so I did not overpack.

And I was to keep my hospital bag very minimal and only have what I would need for a couple days.

I wrote a blog post about what I packed in my hospital bag for my second baby for those who interested.

I go into detail about what I packed my baby, myself, and my husband, who also had to stay with me.

You can check out that post through the link below.

I will catch you all next time!

Read More: What To Pack In Your Hospital Bag For Your Second Baby

Love,

Just Jass

--

--

Love, Just Jass

Here to make you “just” feel good through my experiences with mom-life, positive mental health habits, and self-development tips.