How Can I Get My Toddler Talking?

Love, Just Jass
3 min readApr 9, 2022

Because I need to know what she is saying.

Photo by IIONA VIRGIN on Unsplash

Like most parents, talking is one of those milestones that we all look forward to.

No more babbling baby talk.

Bring on the one or two word sentences.

And of course the words that we all want to hear for the first time.

Mama.

Or Dada for any gentlemen here.

I remember when my daughter started babbling and said Mama.

She had no clue that I was Mama when she first started babbling Mama over and over again.

But as she got older, she started to associate the word “Mama” with me and it was on.

All I heard throughout the day was Mama.

And then she started to figure out how to put words together so she began speaking in sentences.

Then her vocabulary exploded and expanded which blew up into full on conversations.

She is 3 years old now and is a full on chatterbox.

This little girl doesn’t stop talking.

If you are a parent to a child that talks alot and asks a ton of questions, then you know my struggle.

As much as I love that my daughter is able to verbalize what she wants and ask questions, it can be bit much sometimes.

Because my daughter is such a talker, I get asked what I did with her to get her talking.

And my answer is very simple.

I just talked to her.

And I’m not about talking about talking at her like instructing her to do something.

But actually talk to her as in engaging her in a conversation.

When my daughter was in the early phases of talking and using one word sentences, I would ask her questions that would require an answer.

Such as “Would you like a snack?”

Or “Do you want to read a book?”

I would also engage her in dialogue by saying things like “Good morning” when she woke up.

Or narrating what I was doing so she can associate the words with my actions.

And this is how I would talk to her all day long.

If there were moments, she couldn’t verbalize what she wanted to say, I would have her point to what she is trying to talk about.

Then provide her with the word that matches what she is pointing at.

As I said earlier, talking is major milestone that many of us look forward to so when our littles are not speaking, it can feel discouraging as a parent.

We want to see our littles one thrive and being able to communicate is a part of that.

When our littles are able to communicate what they need and feel, it makes things a lot easier.

This especially true for younger children who throw tantrums.

Some of the meltdowns that younger children have are due to their inability to communicate.

Once they are able to verbally say what is wrong, we can then work on a solution to put an end to that meltdown.

But that can only happen once they start talking.

If you are interested in more tips, check out the post that I have linked below.

I discuss everything I did that helped and encouraged my daughter to start talking in that post.

I will catch you all next time!

Read More: Get Your Toddler Talking With These 7 Tips

Love,

Just Jass

--

--

Love, Just Jass

Here to make you “just” feel good through my experiences with mom-life, positive mental health habits, and self-development tips.