Do I Have To Get Dressed As A Stay At Home Mom?

Love, Just Jass
3 min readJan 8, 2022

Because what is the point if I’m home most of the day.

I mean who gets dressed just be at home anyway?

When I became a stay at home mom when my first daughter was born 3 years ago, those were exactly my thoughts.

This was especially true when my first daughter was a newborn.

The last thing I even worried about was getting dressed when she was that little.

In fact, I don’t think I had time to get dressed.

When my daughter was awake, I was nursing her, burping her, changing her, and then trying to get her back sleep.

When she was sleep, I was either trying to get other things done around the house or trying to take a nap myself.

So getting dressed just did not seem like a priority at the time.

I did not realize then that by not getting dressed, it would feed into the postpartum depression that I slowly fell into.

Now I’m not saying that by not getting dressed caused me to suffer from postpartum depression.

Because not getting dressed does not automatically mean that you are depressed.

It was just merely one symptom of it for me.

As someone who thrives on being productive, getting dressed is what jumpstarts my productivity.

It is a lot like making the bed.

There are many experts who swear that making the bed every morning is a good habit that everyone should have.

And not just because it will make your room cleaner.

But it also plays a room in boosting your productivity.

By doing just one productive thing, such as making the bed, you will likely be motivated to do something else productive.

Which was getting dressed for me.

When I was battling postpartum depression, making the bed and getting dressed was something that I was not doing and it set the tone for what the rest of the day was going to be.

Messy and unproductive.

So in order to pull myself out that depressive fog that I was in, I had to start with the basics.

Which as you all guessed.

Making the bed and getting dressed.

And I slowly started feeling more like myself and getting back to a much happier person and mom.

Because after I would get dressed, I would find something else to take care of and I felt like I was finally checking things off of my to-do list that had been lingering much longer than it needed to be.

Now the way you get dressed depends on you.

You don’t have to be in anything fancy, but you don’t want to be in the same pajamas or sweats you had on the night before.

I typically go for leggings and a nice shirt that I can leave the house if I needed.

So as you can see, nothing fancy.

Just comfortable and presentable.

I wrote a blog post on some of the other things I do to look put together and polished while I’m home that you can check out below.

I go into a little more detail there so be to check that out if you are interested in what I do.

I will catch you all next time!

Read More: Easy Ways To Look Put Together As A Stay At Home Mom

Love,

Just Jass

--

--

Love, Just Jass

Here to make you “just” feel good through my experiences with mom-life, positive mental health habits, and self-development tips.