Can Moms Not Have A Bad Day?

Love, Just Jass
3 min readDec 18, 2021

Because apparently that is not allowed.

Have you all seen that commercial with the mom that says she is going to take a sick day?

She is sneezing and coughing and leans over to tell her kids that she is sorry but she has a take a sick day.

And then the narrator cuts in and says that moms can’t take sick days.

Which is true because moms can’t really take sick days no matter how sick they are because they will always be mom.

And you can’t clock out of motherhood.

That is exactly how I feel people feel about moms and bad days.

A lot of people think that moms can’t have bad days because they still have to tend their kids.

And if they are, they can’t really show that she is having a bad day.

Because bad days are forbidden for moms.

Like it is something that can’t happen.

But the reality is that it does happen.

And they happen to moms everywhere all the time.

Moms are human after all.

Mom or not, bad days happen to everyone.

And boy do they suck.

I would even actually argue that bad days really suck as a stay at home mom parent.

When someone who doesn’t have kids experience a bad day, they can actually take a moment to turn it around and collect themselves.

But when you are having a bad day as a stay at home parent, it feels 10 times worse, because you cannot just abandon your kids.

Especially smaller children.

The closest you get to getting away from your kids to have a moment when you are home with them is in the bathroom.

And that is not guaranteed since my oldest loves to follow me to the bathroom.

I have 2 kids 3 and under so you can only imagine the meltdowns that I experience between them.

If my kids are having meltdowns and I’m already having a rough day, then it can be tough to collect myself within the chaos.

And I might even wind up taking out my frustration on my kids.

Which then leads me to feel guilty and apologize later for overreacting.

Bad day or not, my kids don’t deserve to be the target of my frustration.

So to answer the question posed at the beginning?

Yes, moms can have bad days just like everybody else.

But we have to remember that a bad day doesn’t have to turn into another bad day.

We can turn around those bad days to make room for better days.

But we got to get through the bad days first.

I wrote a blog post on how to shake off a bad “mom” day with some simple ways to turn a bad day around.

I discuss what I do as a stay at home mom and how I get through those rougher days.

You can check out that post through the link below.

I will catch you all next time!

Read More: Shaking Off A Bad Mom Day

Love,

Just Jass

--

--

Love, Just Jass

Here to make you “just” feel good through my experiences with mom-life, positive mental health habits, and self-development tips.