Are You In A Funk Or Depressed?

Love, Just Jass
3 min readSep 25, 2021

Because there is a difference.

Photo by Jessica Felicio on Unsplash

I know so many people often will say that they are depressed when they are just in a really funky mood.

But is it depression?

I know when I became a mom for the first time, I dealt with postpartum depression so I know what that looks like.

And it wasn’t just me crying in a corner for multiple days either.

It was me mad as hell at my husband for changing the diaper too slow.

It was me isolating because I already felt alone as a new stay at home mom with no friends that kids.

And it was me struggling to find my identity within being a mom.

That kind of depression affected on me a whole different level and I did not like the person that I was when I was suffering from that.

I dealt with that feeling for the entire first year of daughter’s life.

So I knew that it was not just the baby blues.

That is what depression can look like for others.

Depression is life altering and affects your overall wellbeing and disrupts your every day functioning.

Being in a funky mood won’t cause you to go all day without eating, but depression will.

Missing a day from work because you are in a funk is pretty normal, but missing an entire week because you are in a funk is likely not.

That could very well be a depressive episode emerging.

Having thoughts of harming yourself is not what someone who is in a funk would think.

But someone who is depressed would.

Maybe it started off you being in a funk and then shifted to a depressive episode.

I’m sure that happens but that is when you need to recognize that is more than you just feeling “off” for a day or two.

When I’m in a funk, I am usually very stagnant and talk down on myself.

I get mad at myself for not being productive or for feeling like I’m a bad mom when in reality, my kids are alive or thriving.

I just need to get out of my own way in order to see that I’m better than what I am thinking of myself.

If I in a funk, I can usually snap out of it in a day or two once I have gotten some rest and found a way to be productive.

When I was struggling with postpartum depression, it was not so easy to snap out of.

Every day, I woke up feeling the same way.

Feeling lost, sad, mad, and alone.

I couldn’t pull myself out of that hole until I reached out for help.

Help that only a professional could help me with.

So you need to know the difference.

Which leads me to ask you all again.

Are you in a funk or depressed?

If you are in funk and are interested in some ways on how to get yourself out of a funk, then I suggest you check out the post below.

I provide all of the my tips on how I get myself out of a funk, so I hope that they will help you.

If you are depressed, then it is time to seek professional help.

Get your self a therapist and start today as soon as you can.

You deserve to be happy.

I will catch you all next time!

Read More: How To Get Yourself Out Of A Funk

Love,

Just Jass

--

--

Love, Just Jass

Here to make you “just” feel good through my experiences with mom-life, positive mental health habits, and self-development tips.